Bet Jetta is happy to have to have the same team..licence to run!!
Grand Final umpires announced
Collapse
X
-
Driver of the Dan Hannebery bandwagon....all aboard. 4th April 09Comment
-
Jetta did not break rules. It is defined as 15 steps, he never took 15 steps in between bounces. A long striderYou don't ban those who supported your opponent, you make them wallow in their loserdom by covering your victory! You sit them in the front row. You give them a hat! Toby ZieglerComment
-
Interestingly, he confirmed all the incorrect calls in Hawks/Crows game favoured the Hawks. With only 5 points the difference its pretty clear why the umpires from that game were dumped.Comment
-
Unfortunately not. Jeff Gieschen spoke about the goal in this week's review with the umpires here... It's Your Call - AFL Finals Week 3 2012 - YouTube and confirmed its 15 metres, not steps. I suspect the umpires will focus on it more in tye GF.
Interestingly, he confirmed all the incorrect calls in Hawks/Crows game favoured the Hawks. With only 5 points the difference its pretty clear why the umpires from that game were dumped.You don't ban those who supported your opponent, you make them wallow in their loserdom by covering your victory! You sit them in the front row. You give them a hat! Toby ZieglerComment
-
Yes that well behind the line touch by Tarrant was woeful. Still can't work out why they didn't call for the review. But they love her down at AFL House and she was probably inked in well before last week, purely for publicity reasons. After all she was on OTC not long back.Comment
-
Yes that well behind the line touch by Tarrant was woeful. Still can't work out why they didn't call for the review. But they love her down at AFL House and she was probably inked in well before last week, purely for publicity reasons. After all she was on OTC not long back.Comment
-
AFL Law 15.2.2 (b) - 2012 lawbook
(b) Where a Player is moving whilst in possession of the football, the Player must bounce or touch the football on the ground at least once every 15 metres, irrespective of whether such Player is running in a straight line or otherwise.
As an aussie rules umpire myself in district/junior footy, the easiest way is to count the steps which is usually 10-12 steps depending on the size of the player.
And if you do watch the video of his goal (it was pretty cool, still) he took about 17 steps between one of the bounces.Comment
-
Giesh's comments on Jetta's goal were interesting. I would think that whatever is said in public, the umpire in question would not be copping too much stick in private. No-one wants the umpires "adjusting" the rules on the fly but if ever there was a case that was it.Comment
-
I've been watching footy for a long time and I'm sure plenty of others here are in the same boat.
I reckon you just KNOW if somebody has run too far. You don't need to count steps, don't need to step it out, don't need to measure it, you just know.
As Dennis Denuto would say, "It's just ... the VIBE ... of the thing.
I guess I was too busy screaming my lungs out at the time, but I never got 'the Vibe' during Jets' run...Driver of the Dan Hannebery bandwagon....all aboard. 4th April 09Comment
-
I've been watching footy for a long time and I'm sure plenty of others here are in the same boat.
I reckon you just KNOW if somebody has run too far. You don't need to count steps, don't need to step it out, don't need to measure it, you just know.
As Dennis Denuto would say, "It's just ... the VIBE ... of the thing.
I guess I was too busy screaming my lungs out at the time, but I never got 'the Vibe' during Jets' run...Comment
-
Watch the 15m call be the rule of the week in the granny, as the deliberate oob has been at times this yearComment
-
I don't think she was in the perfect position. She did not "straddle" the line evenly, she was a bit behind the line. If she believed that she was centred over the line of course she would have called "touched", but she wasn't perfectly centred and it was, IMHO, the wrong call."Fortunately, this is the internet, so knowing nothing is no obstacle to having an opinion!." Beerman 18-07-2017Comment
-
I don't think she was in the perfect position. She did not "straddle" the line evenly, she was a bit behind the line. If she believed that she was centred over the line of course she would have called "touched", but she wasn't perfectly centred and it was, IMHO, the wrong call.Comment
-
If you watch the video discussion in "It's Your Call" (posted above) what they say is that she was in fact in perfect position because the rule is that the whole of the ball has to be past the back of the padding on the post for it to be a goal. That is why she is not positioned straddling the line which would be too far forward.Comment
Comment