Media Onslaught

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Ludwig
    Veterans List
    • Apr 2007
    • 9359

    #31
    The difference between the rule interpretations from round 2 to round 3 was astounding. It was not only the leniency on the HTB calls, but on lots of the rules as well. There was plenty of pushing in the back, holding and arm chopping that went uncalled as well. I'm happy with the new lighter version of rule interpretations, but it would be nice to get some consistency from the AFL. With the Swans having so many Thursday and Friday games we will be the guinea pigs for the whimsical side of footy umpiring.

    Comment

    • Meg
      Go Swannies!
      Site Admin
      • Aug 2011
      • 4828

      #32
      Originally posted by Nico
      A Freo player was tackled to the ground by his right arm. He attempted to dispose of the ball but did so by throwing it with his left hand along the ground. The camera was zoomed right on it....play on. Goes way against the rule you quoted. Looks like it is rules on the run.
      Assuming the player did not have prior opportunity the situation you describe is probably covered by (e) under Law 15.2.4 (which I didn't post earlier).

      ----

      15.2.4 Application ? Specific Instances where Play shall Continue

      For the avoidance of doubt, the field Umpire shall allow play to continue when:

      (a) a Player is bumped and the football falls from the Player?s hands;

      (b) a Player?s arm is knocked which causes the Player to lose possession of the football;

      (c) a Player?s arms are pinned to their side by an opponent which causes the Player to drop the football, unless the Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply;

      (d) a Player, whilst in the act of Correctly Disposing of the football, is swung off-balance and does not make contact with the football by either foot or hand, unless the Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply; or

      (e) a Player is pulled or swung by one arm which causes the football to fall from the Player?s hands, unless the Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply.

      ----

      Comment

      • Blue Sun
        Senior Player
        • May 2010
        • 1438

        #33
        Originally posted by Sandridge
        Yep. Didn't get an armchair ride and didn't win the game. Lovely! (They still got away with numerous throws, though. And they didn't actually lose the free kick count, either. Breaking even with free kicks is a "getting a bad go" for them!)
        Indeed. They definitely struggle when they aren't favoured.

        Comment

        Working...