Is it just me....

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • TheMase
    Senior Player
    • Jan 2003
    • 1207

    #16
    Originally posted by Dpw
    Not sure what your problem with the call is as theres no such rule as dropping the ball if he has the ball and it spills lose from a tackle than play on is the call. if he is able to get it on or to another player without kicking or handballing it will be deemed incorrect disposal if he is bouncing the ball while being tackled it is deemed holding the ball.

    hope this helps
    Might not be a thing such as 'dropping the ball'. But there is such a rule as incorrect disposal.

    The only way to dispose of the football is by hand (handpass) or foot (kick) any other way of disposing of the ball is incorrect, and a free kick should be paid for incorrect disposal.

    There is actually NO RULE called HOLDING THE BALL. That is also known as incorrect disposal. Once the player has had prior opportunity (basically he has time get the footy and have a look) and elected not to use it, the next tackle a free kick should be paid as he did not dispose the ball correctly in the allocated time.

    Thats basically it ...

    Comment

    • TheMase
      Senior Player
      • Jan 2003
      • 1207

      #17
      Originally posted by penga
      the new understanding of holding the ball is prior opportunity, pike had prior opportunity!!!

      charlie, during the NSO game schneider went for the ball and overran it... an imposter took control of my mouth and shouted "delist him now!"
      IIRC the Pike incident, then that was a 50/50 incident.

      The fact that he made an attempt at disposal and he was tackled and the ball spilled free in the act of kicking, play on was the right call to make as he did make an attempt.

      Of course you could look at it the other way and say he had plenty of time to dispose of it earlier.

      As I said 50/50 decision and it depends on the umpires interpretation.
      Last edited by TheMase; 13 May 2003, 10:00 AM.

      Comment

      • penga
        Senior Player
        • Jan 2003
        • 2601

        #18
        learn something new everyday
        C'mon Chels!

        Comment

        • sharp9
          Senior Player
          • Jan 2003
          • 2508

          #19
          I for one get right bloody sick of feral (usually Collingwood) supporters) yelling "BALL" every time some one is tackled.

          I can't reacll the Pike incident but if he didn't have prior opportunity then it is called a tackle. The tackling players reward is either the ball spilling free or a ball up. At least some commentators do try to reiterate this from time to time on the tele but lots of fans are not listening.

          Incorrect disposal applies if a player is not being tackled, or had prior opportunity.

          As for the Crouch call I would like to see a lot more of it. Unfortunately this is one area where consistency is lacking. Crouch was on the ground and pulled the ball into himself and then didn't get it away. This is classic holding the ball and probably the main reason the rule was brought in. He could have slapped it away, but the fact is that there were more Lions around than Swans and they would probably have got it.

          And another thing, if a player has prior opportunity and then gets tackled and in the tackle manages to get a pathetic dribbley kick or handpass away PLAY ON is the call

          Essendon ferals don't understand this. They seem to think that every red and black tackle should be rewarded with a free regardless of what happened before or after. Idioits.
          "I'll acknowledge there are more talented teams in the competition but I won't acknowledge that there is a better team in the competition" Paul Roos March 2005

          Comment

          • TheHood
            On the Rookie List
            • Jan 2003
            • 1938

            #20
            And the number of ticky-touchy frees that the Lions got in the second half was bewildering
            Thanks Lizz, you just prompted me to ask, does anyone have a copy of the rule book handy?

            'In the back' is my biggest gripe going. From memory Kirky brought a Lion to ground brilliantly (and so softly) for a certain ball decision but because he didnt roll the guy (see Willo's style) to his side or drag him backwards, he gets pinged for in the back. There are some moments when you wonder if the tackler has to overtake the ball carrier and then face him head on!

            I'm no baby elephant but if I were playing today, my every tackle would lead to an opposition free.
            The Pain of Discipline is Nothing Like The Pain of Disappointment

            Comment

            • lizz
              Veteran
              Site Admin
              • Jan 2003
              • 16778

              #21
              Originally posted by sharp9


              As for the Crouch call I would like to see a lot more of it. Unfortunately this is one area where consistency is lacking. Crouch was on the ground and pulled the ball into himself and then didn't get it away. This is classic holding the ball and probably the main reason the rule was brought in. He could have slapped it away, but the fact is that there were more Lions around than Swans and they would probably have got it.

              Not in the incident I was referring to. I agree that where a player pulls the ball in under them they are consistently (well, fairly anyway) getting pinged for HTB. But in this case he was on his feet when he took possession, tackled immediately with the ball pinned to him and taken to ground. There is no way on earth he had a prior opportunity, nor could he have disposed of it once he was on the ground, on top of it, with a Lion on top of him.

              Comment

              • j s
                Think positive!
                • Jan 2003
                • 3303

                #22
                Originally posted by TheMase
                Of course you could look at it the other way and say he had plenty of time to dispose of it earlier.
                This is the key point isn't it. If prior opportunity exists and the disposal attempt is unsuccessful (eg pulled off the kick by the tackle) then a free should be awarded. If no prior opportunity then the correct call is play on.

                Comment

                Working...