Match Day Thread Rnd 22 Adelaide V Sydney. Adelaide Oval 19.50 pm. Or 19.20 ACST.
The media reporting of what Hayden Kennedy said about the Betts' tackle on Mills has been misleading (or at the very least the headline to articles has been misleading).
Kennedy said the ump should have called play-on and I agree with that (although looking at the replay the ump barely had time to get the words out before Betts tackled). What Kennedy did NOT say is that the 50-metre penalty was a mistake.
In my view as play-on had not been called, Betts erred in making the tackle (and he has been playing long enough to know he MUST wait for the play-on call). And therefore the 50-metre penalty was correct (if tough under the circumstances).
There is another technical point that I have been mulling over. The protected zone extends to include a 5-metre semi-circle behind the player taking the kick. Betts was not on the mark - so therefore I assume he should be classed as behind the player with the kick. While he couldn't have been expected to disappear magically in the split second it took for Mills to play on, it seems to me he should not be able to tackle as he was in the 5-metre semi-circle behind Mills. (As distinct from a player in front of Mills who could have legitimately tackled had play-on be called.)
Does anyone have an informed view? (I get a bit nerdy trying to understand the rules.)
The media reporting of what Hayden Kennedy said about the Betts' tackle on Mills has been misleading (or at the very least the headline to articles has been misleading).
Kennedy said the ump should have called play-on and I agree with that (although looking at the replay the ump barely had time to get the words out before Betts tackled). What Kennedy did NOT say is that the 50-metre penalty was a mistake.
In my view as play-on had not been called, Betts erred in making the tackle (and he has been playing long enough to know he MUST wait for the play-on call). And therefore the 50-metre penalty was correct (if tough under the circumstances).
There is another technical point that I have been mulling over. The protected zone extends to include a 5-metre semi-circle behind the player taking the kick. Betts was not on the mark - so therefore I assume he should be classed as behind the player with the kick. While he couldn't have been expected to disappear magically in the split second it took for Mills to play on, it seems to me he should not be able to tackle as he was in the 5-metre semi-circle behind Mills. (As distinct from a player in front of Mills who could have legitimately tackled had play-on be called.)
Does anyone have an informed view? (I get a bit nerdy trying to understand the rules.)

Comment